Canellakis Conducts Brahms and Wagner


Karina Canellakis, conductor (bio)
Rebekah Hou, harp (bio)

Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 3, in F major, Op. 90
Alberto Ginastera Harp Concerto, Op, 25
Richard Wagner “Forest Murmurs” from Siegfried
Richard Wagner “Dawn and Siegfried’s Rhine Journey” from Götterdämmerung

The NRO is thrilled to welcome back podium Karina Canellakis, a musician of great repute and a powerful voice in today’s music scene.  The third symphony by Brahms displays a lyricism and organic flow that evokes a sense of introspection, certainly influenced by the city’s proximity to the Rhine River.  Wagner’s “Forest Murmers” from “Siegfried” is a lush and enchanting orchestral interlude, depicting the magical atmosphere of a forest, with delicate textures and shimmering sounds that contribute to the opera’s rich narrative and mythological themes. We return to the Rhine for Wagner’s “Dawn and Siegfrid’s Rhine Journey,” capturing the radiant beauty of dawn and the heroic fervor of the hero Siegfried at the climactic conclusion to Wagner’s Ring Cycle.

BUY A PASS or Bundle

Buy a season pass and save up to 37% with priority reserved seating!

Buy a ticket bundle and save up to 25%!


More Upcoming Events