Britten’s Storm and Tchaikovsky’s Strings


Michael Stern, conductor (bio)
Janice Hu, violin (bio)
Christine Kao, cello (bio)
Anish Raj Pandit, oboe (bio)
Nathan Muz, bassoon (bio)

Michael Abels “Global Warming”
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48
Franz Joseph Haydn Sinfonia Concertante in B-flat major, Hob. I/105
Benjamin Britten Four Sea Interludes, Op. 33a from Peter Grimes

This concert benefits High Country Conservation Center.

Continuing with our theme for the season, the NRO performs Britten’s Four Sea Interludes, evocative orchestral vignettes that depict the changing moods and elements of the sea, conveying the atmospheric nuances of coastal life. Abel’s Global Warming reflects on the similarities between folk music of divergent, immigrant cultures, and celebrates these common threads.  The program also includes one of the most popular and familiar string pieces, Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings, a luminous and emotionally resonant composition that expresses a blend of romantic lyricism and classical elegance.   

BUY A PASS or Bundle

Buy a season pass and save up to 37% with priority reserved seating!

Buy a ticket bundle and save up to 25%!


More Upcoming Events